Deep clean your LinkedIn account
Easy fixes to:
Declutter your notifications
Limit unwanted messages and requests
Reduce risk of phishing or hiring scams
Enhance account security
Block Party is a browser extension that deep cleans your social media, notifications, settings, and more in one click.
Block Party’s recommendations for deep cleaning your LinkedIn account:
Limit email visibility to first degree connections
Sharing your email address publicly, or with distant connections, and allowing your email to be exported, increases your risk of phishing attacks, invasive advertising, and unsolicited emails. However, limiting email visibility may also affect people's ability to contact you for career opportunities.
- Set Email Visibility to "1st Degree Connections"
- Turn off Allow Your Email to Be Downloaded in Data Export
Limit notifications
Turn off various LinkedIn notifications to declutter your inbox and reduce the number of messages clamoring for your attention. If you're actively job searching or hiring, you may want to keep some of these notification settings on.
- Set Allow Job Search Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Job Post Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Connections Related Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Post Related Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Messaging Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Group Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Page Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Event Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Editorial Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Reports And Insights Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Profile Improvement Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Verification Notifications to "Off"
- Set Allow Game Notifications to "Off"
Limit active status visibility
Being able to see when you are active on the platform allows harassers and stalkers to time their threatening messages more effectively, increasing the possibility that they can disrupt your day.
- Set Manage Active Status to "No One"
Limit discoverability of your profile
Removing the ability for people to find your LinkedIn profile via phone number or email address makes it harder for scammers or identity thieves to find your personal information and build fake profiles with your data or otherwise misappropriate it for fraudulent use.
- Set Discover By Email to "1st Degree Connections"
- Set Discover By Phone to "Nobody"
Do not represent your company
"Represent Company" proactively features your account in search results or sponsored ads about your employer. If your company is being targeted in a hiring scam, you are more likely to be impersonated to defraud others as a representative of the company.
- Turn off Represent Company
Keep connections list private
Easily seeing your professional network lets attackers use information in your profile to make phishing or impersonation campaigns more realistic. However, some people like this feature for networking — for example, so others can see who they are connected with to make introductions. Even if you turn off this feature, people will still be able to see your mutual connections.
- Turn off Connection Visibility
Keep your current location private
Sharing your location on LinkedIn can be risky — even the smallest location clues can make it easier to find your specific address and office addresses are often public. However, there are tradeoffs to removing your current location: you may reduce your visibility for professional opportunities, like jobs or networking events.
- Remove Location from your profile
Use two-factor authentication
It can be particularly damaging to lose control of your LinkedIn account and thus your profile on the default professional platform. Two-factor authentication is an essential part of keeping your account secure.
- Open Two Step Verification
- Choose the two-factor authentication method that fits your needs (we strongly recommend authentication app)
- Follow the setup instructions