# Deep clean your X (Twitter) account

# Take action to:

Protect against **account takeovers**

Mass delete your **old tweets**

Opt out **your data** from AI models

**Mass block** negative accounts

**Block Party** is a browser extension that deep cleans your social media, notifications, settings, and more in **one click**.

# Block Party’s recommendations for deep cleaning your X account:

# Opt your data out of AI model training

Protect your data by opting out of sharing your content and activity with X's AI search assistant, Grok. This will prevent X from using your posts or user interactions, inputs and results to shape and train their AI models.

- Turn off [**Allow Your Content and Activity to Be Used for Training Grok**](https://x.com/settings/grok_settings)

To automate this update, use Block Party:

# Keep your post locations private

Given the real-time nature of X, sharing your location on specific posts is risky and opens you up to stalking, especially if you're located in a smaller town or city.

- Remove existing [**Location**](https://x.com/settings/location) information attached to your posts
- Stop [**Location**](https://x.com/settings/location) information from being attached to future posts

# Mute unwanted notifications

Control which notifications you receive to reduce noise in your mentions.

- Mute notifications from people who [**You Don't Follow**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)
- Mute notifications from people who [**Don't Follow You**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)
- Mute notifications from people with a [**New Account**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)
- Mute notifications from people with a [**Default Profile Photo**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)
- Mute notification from people who [**Haven't Confirmed Email**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)
- Mute notifications from people who [**Haven't Confirmed Phone Number**](https://x.com/settings/notifications/advanced_filters)

# Restrict app access to your location

If you grant the X mobile app access to your location, you may be targeted with location-specific ads, and it may be easier to include your location in posts in ways you do not intend.

1. Find **Settings** on your device and tap **Privacy**
2. Select **Location Services**
3. Look through the list of apps and find **X**
4. Select **Never**

# Restrict audio and video calls

By default, X enables audio and video calls from anyone in your address book or who you follow on X.

1. Find **Settings** in the X app on your mobile device
2. Type **Direct Message** at the top of the search bar
3. Toggle off **Enable Audio and Video Calling**

# Limit how your account can be found

Allowing others to look you up by phone number or email may expose the identity of an anonymous or private account.

- Don't allow [**People Who Have Your Email Address**](https://x.com/settings/contacts) to find you on X
- Don't allow [**People Who Have Your Phone Number**](https://x.com/settings/contacts) to find you on X

# Review sessions

X allows you to see all the places where you are logged in, and selectively log out any that do not seem familiar.

1. Visit [**Sessions**](https://x.com/settings/sessions) 
2. Scroll down to **Log Out Other Sessions** 
3. Review where your account is currently logged in
4. If you see a suspicious login, click on it
5. Click **Log Out the Device Shown**

# Use two-factor authentication

Two-factor authentication is an essential part of keeping your account secure. If your password is compromised, two-factor authentication provides another layer of protection for your account.

1. Open [**Two-Factor Authentication**](https://x.com/settings/account/login_verification) 
2. Choose the two-factor authentication method that fits your needs
3. Follow the setup instructions

# Only with Block Party

If you're looking to deep clean even more, here are powerful automations by Block Party that can help.

# Block a post's author and reposters

Blocking lets you control who can interact with you on X by preventing those accounts from following you, messaging you, or ending up in your activity notifications.

# Delete your posts

Clear your history on X by deleting your posts, reposts, quote posts and replies on your timeline. You can download an archive of your posts before deleting.

# Remove your likes

Limit what X knows about you by unliking all of the posts you previously liked. Even though likes are no longer visible to other users, the data can still be used by X for content targeting or AI model training.

# Leave direct messages

Protect against potential exposure of private communications through account takeover, platform insider threats, data breaches, or changes in platform policies.
